Strange Fruit and Save the Children

Hi all! Here are the 2 video, one for Eng. 1 and one for Eng. 2. Both are important for you to watch. Please respond in the comments section to your video. You may post a question, a comment, or your reaction in addition to answering the question that follows your video. I am not going to lie, there are some disturbing images in each video, but both are equally important and fitting for each of your novels and units.

Remember we will refer to these in class, so please watch closely! Looking forward to your reactions 🙂

 English 1 Video- Strange Fruit

Reflection Question: How does this video affect your understanding of racism during the 1930’s?

English 2 Video- Save the Children

Reflection Question: How does this video relate to Ch.10 of Kite Runner?

HOMEWORK

English 1

-You have a week to respond to the video (March 4)

-Please turn in your Fahrenheit 451 Literary Analysis, if you still haven’t!

English 2

-You have a week to respond to the video (March 4)

-Read Ch.11 of Kite Runner

REMINDERS for EVERYONE!!!

– See me for Lunch passes and Scholar Hour passes!!!

-Build On Tuesdays!!!

-Culinary Club Thursday!!!

-CHECK YOUR GRADES ASAP!!!

About jvpilar

Here's a little info about your teacher. I worked really hard to become your teacher. I went to UIC to get a degree in English, but decided to work as a writer in California. While I was there I realized I would rather work with kids than work in an office all day, so I decided to come back to Chicago and become a licensed, fully certified teacher. I earned a Masters Degree in Teaching and Education from Dominican University and got my first job at Hancock. During my 4 years at Hancock, I have taught English at every grade level. I started the Culinary Club and also sponsor BuildOn, both clubs do community service projects all over the city. I also have a cat named Duke that I rescued during one of our BuildOn service learning projects and a dog named Duchess.

61 responses to “Strange Fruit and Save the Children

  1. charnette nutall

    this video was scary but that was history. some stuff still happens today, but there is nothing wrong for being different. I know back than that if blacks back then read they would’ve been free, also thanks to dr. martin luther king jr. even though its all history stuff like this still happens and they get away with it too.

  2. Yeimi

    It affects the understanding of racism because now I am see all th things that people did to African Americans on how they though they were and what they did to them and how they all though it was funny to do

  3. Victor Felix

    This video shows how poorly black people were treated for no reason just cause the color of their skin.

  4. Jose Salvador

    How this video impacts my understanding of racism during the 1930’s is that it gave me a better understanding of how far white people would go to get their point across to the black people. How they thought their race was far superior than any other race.

  5. Jacky sosa

    This video shows that how much racism there was between whites and blacks. Whit people would do linches if a black person broke a Jim crow law they would want to show others what would happen if they broke one so people would like gather at a linch and then when they would hang the body to show others.

  6. christian r

    this gave me a better understanding of how it was back in the day, thank god for today this doesn’t exists i wouldn’t be able to live probably and nor would any of the non white races in America.

  7. Jennifer galarza

    This video affects my understanding of racism in the 1830’s by it s is showing me what they did to the colored people and how they were separated from whites. This video also gives me a visual of what things looked like.

  8. Manny Hernandez

    This video showed how races people were back then and were treated poorly for no reason and african americans had a tough life back then.

  9. Jonatthan Aguilar

    This video was really showed how African Americans were treated unfairly I knew that they were separated from white people but I never though that they were tortured and killed for no reason just because of their color what is messed up is that is still happening till this day

Leave a Reply

