My oh my, it’s snowy outside!!!

Hi all! Greetings from NY! Yes I am still on my trip because of all the snow that is in Chicago! I am working from the airport to make sure that all of your grades are updated, all forms of Extra Credit can be applied and I can calculate winners for the field trip! I was unable to update over the weekend, but here you are the LAST chance at the field trip!

When you think of snow, you think of ice. Ice and coldness can be associated with many things. What can ice symbolize? For example, in the following poem Robert Frost talks about the world ending.

Fire and Ice

BY ROBERT FROST

Some say the world will end in fire,
Some say in ice.
From what I’ve tasted of desire
I hold with those who favor fire.
But if it had to perish twice,
I think I know enough of hate
To say that for destruction ice
Is also great
And would suffice.
Ice can be a symbol for ______________, Fill in the blank in the comments!
See you on Wednesday 🙂
HOMEWORK
English 1
Read to the end of Ch.3 of Fahrenheit 451. Be ready to complete the work!
English 2
Read to the end of Ch.7 of Kite Runner. 

REMINDERS FOR EVERYONE

-Check Student Portal so you know your grade!!!

-End of the Semester is TOMORROW! Get those grades up!!!

-Build On Every Tuesday!

-Culinary Club now on Thursdays- starting this week 2/4/2015!

-Scholar Hour and lunch tutoring available EVERYDAY!!! See me for a pass to either!

About jvpilar

Here's a little info about your teacher. I worked really hard to become your teacher. I went to UIC to get a degree in English, but decided to work as a writer in California. While I was there I realized I would rather work with kids than work in an office all day, so I decided to come back to Chicago and become a licensed, fully certified teacher. I earned a Masters Degree in Teaching and Education from Dominican University and got my first job at Hancock. During my 4 years at Hancock, I have taught English at every grade level. I started the Culinary Club and also sponsor BuildOn, both clubs do community service projects all over the city. I also have a cat named Duke that I rescued during one of our BuildOn service learning projects and a dog named Duchess.

3 responses to “My oh my, it’s snowy outside!!!

  1. Yeimi

    I think that ice symbolism is hate. I think it’s hate because someone that is mean is a cold hearted person lol

  2. ice can symbolize the unsentimental heart people have as cold as hard ice.

  3. mrlezama

    I must admit, this is a pretty damn good poem, I just wish I had read it sooner.
    As for what ice may symbolize, I’d probably say that ice could represent the pleasures our society buries itself in, while fire could represent what ideas we already have of the end of the world as we know it.

    So the whole poem could tie into Fahrenheit 451, where the world had chosen to remain buried in ice (happiness induced by ignorance) , and simply waited for the fire to melt and burn down what was left of them, leaving only a handful of survivors, ready to reset the world and see whether we’d end once again with fire, ice, or both.

    So all in all, ice to me (in this context at least) is humanity’s acceptance of ignorance, and embrace of self-pleasure, which marks the beginning of our downfall, only to then be obliterated by humanity’s self-destruction in war, disease, and plague (fire).

Leave a Reply

