Woman Crush Wednesday!!!

Hi all! Hope you enjoyed your day off on Monday and are enjoying a nice 4 day week! As we near the end of the quarter, let’s finish strongly!  I can not say enough of how proud I am of those of you who continue to complete the hard work as we reach the half point of this year! Remember, finals THURSDAY AND FRIDAY so be ready! The end of this quarter is the one that counts for the semester, so keep that goal in mind- B’s or Better!

I just love this baby’s face 🙂

B's

Today’s grade boost:

For Woman Crush Wednesday, let me know which female characters have been admirable for you in a book or Shakespeare play. Perhaps you have a female author that you enjoy. Please be appropriate! Leave a comment explaining why this woman is your “crush” and get your E.C.  As usual, I’ll go first… my woman crush is Desdemona from Othello. She was loyal to her man and stuck to her guns. She may have suffered a painful death, but she loved wholeheartedly. Sigh… Now it’s your turn!

othello_and_desdemona_by_nacchy89-d5p5ckm

HOMEWORK

English 1

Read Ch.3 to page 121. Annotate 3 important events, 2 uses of figurative language, and 1 challenging passage.

8th period: Please finish your CC/ CI Worksheet.

English 2

Read Ch.3-4 and complete the 4 questions:

1)Describe Baba.

2)Describe Amir and Baba’s relationship.

3)How does the Afghani society affect Amir?

4)Describe the relationship between you and your own father.

REMINDERS FOR EVERYONE

-Check Student Portal so you know your grade!!!

-End of the Semester is 1/29! NEXT WEEK!!! Get those grades up!!!

-Build On Every Tuesday!

-Culinary Club now on Thursdays!

-Scholar Hour and lunch tutoring available EVERYDAY!!! See me for a pass to either!

PS Wouldn’t be WCW without mentioning Jackie in 7th period! Thanks for being the inspiring this blog 🙂

About jvpilar

Here's a little info about your teacher. I worked really hard to become your teacher. I went to UIC to get a degree in English, but decided to work as a writer in California. While I was there I realized I would rather work with kids than work in an office all day, so I decided to come back to Chicago and become a licensed, fully certified teacher. I earned a Masters Degree in Teaching and Education from Dominican University and got my first job at Hancock. During my 4 years at Hancock, I have taught English at every grade level. I started the Culinary Club and also sponsor BuildOn, both clubs do community service projects all over the city. I also have a cat named Duke that I rescued during one of our BuildOn service learning projects and a dog named Duchess.

14 responses to “Woman Crush Wednesday!!!

  1. Manny Hernandez

    My woman crush Wednesday is Mildred because she seems like a very strong independent women.

  2. mrlezama

    Jeez, could give us a warning regarding that spoiler, but meh, I’m not really one to talk, am I?
    Anywho, as for a “woman crush”, I’d probably go with Jessica from Deal Breaker.
    I really admired how she didn’t just wallow in self-pity when she had lost both, her father and sister.
    She also showed exceptional perseverance in her relentless search for Kathy, alongside Myron.
    So all in all, Jessica from Deal Breaker was a pretty interesting character.
    Not sure if I can consider that a crush, but as far as admiration goes, I have plenty for this character.

  3. Matthew Rocha

    My WCE is you Ms.Pilar c:

  4. Rudolfo Villanueva

    My WCW is Katniss Everdeen

  5. Wcw would have to be Michelle Obama

  6. carla

    clarisse has been an admirable during Fahrenheit 451 because she never meant to hurt montag she was the one to help him notice the light …that the world that he lived in was dark. She made him think,fee,and suggest things and that has led him to were he is now trying to change his world with some of the only books left .Clarisse made montag feel something towards life and wonder many things she is also very kind and the only person that has seen that side of her was Montag

  7. my woman crush Wednesday is Clarisse the reason why is because the way that they describe her in the book it is very wonderful how she is humble and she does not like to be like the rest she wants to be herself and she want to think and not be follower. i like how she stands out by being herself.

Leave a Reply

