Throwback Thursday

Hello! Capitalizing on my IG lingo- I have decided to pose a question for this Throwback Thursday… feel free to comment back for some E.C:

Think about yourself this time last year, how have you changed? Maybe your sleeping patterns, your hair style, the way you study, your friends- how have the new changes in your life affected who you are as a person?

I’ll go first so you feel comfortable enough to share- I know for me, this time last year I didn’t have 2 nieces and my nephews were living in Galena all the way out by Iowa, so I didn’t spend as much time with my family, but now things are different because we are all together again and there are new babies, so I get to spend more time with them and less time at school 🙂 YAY! Happy Auntie, which makes me an even happier Teacher!

Alright, your turn. Leave your comments on the page for your E.C.

Please don’t forget to keep up that drive for success and complete your work for class as well! See you tomorrow!

Homework ENG I:

-Block 1: Read and annotate “There Will Come Soft Rains,” by Ray Bradbury

-Blocks1-8 Complete the Science Fiction Chart Below:

Genre: Science Fiction

Elements of Science Fiction Reasons for Reading Science Fiction
1) 1)
2) 2)
3) 3)
4) 4)
5) 5)

Homework ENG II:

Finish reading your section from Ch.13-14 and complete Double Entry Journal.

Focus Question: What do the characters’ choices reveal about their identities? You need at least 2 quotes for your journal.

Important Quote Your thoughts or interpretations
1) 1)
2) 2)

IMPORTANT REMINDERS FOR EVERYONE!!!

-If you have missing assignments see me during lunch or after school to finish your work!!!

-CHECK YOUR GRADES AS OFTEN AS POSSIBLE!!! You can always raise your grade by going to lunch tutoring or Scholar Hour. See me for more details and a pass. Then, I will send you down during lunch or after school.

-Build On Meeting Tuesday!

-Culinary Club, Meeting Monday November 24 to prepare for Toys for Treats and the Share The Magic Toy Drive.

I will have permission slips for The Soup Kitchen Field Trip as well!

See you Next week! E.C. If you donate a toy!!!

936559_620219269466_523154335_n

My family this time last year December 2013.

644373_667897042826_4530510326326383076_n (1)

And here’s my family last month 🙂

About jvpilar

Here's a little info about your teacher. I worked really hard to become your teacher. I went to UIC to get a degree in English, but decided to work as a writer in California. While I was there I realized I would rather work with kids than work in an office all day, so I decided to come back to Chicago and become a licensed, fully certified teacher. I earned a Masters Degree in Teaching and Education from Dominican University and got my first job at Hancock. During my 4 years at Hancock, I have taught English at every grade level. I started the Culinary Club and also sponsor BuildOn, both clubs do community service projects all over the city. I also have a cat named Duke that I rescued during one of our BuildOn service learning projects and a dog named Duchess.

4 responses to “Throwback Thursday

  1. Karissa Urbina

    I think if i looked back at myself a year ago i can see that i definitely changed. I think now i try to be more positive in any situation and i always try to see the good in things instead of being negative all the time. It really changes the way people see you but not only that im definitely more happy with myself.

    • That’s awesome Karissa! It’s a lot easier to complain about negatives, and really hard to think positively, but if you remain positive you bring it with you every where you go and it spreads! I always say a positive attitude is a great accessory, it brightens every outfit, can be warn on every occasion, and goes with everything!!! 🙂

  2. Charnette Nutall

    If I look like back at my life from when I was little I would say I’ve made people laugh and made them feel better. 😂😄

Leave a Reply

