Flashback Friday!!! With a Twist of Halloween Fun!

Hi all! Here we go! As the end of the quarter creeps up behind us and yells, “BOO!” (We literally have 1 week left before the end of Quarter 1), please continue making an effort to stay focused on your work.  I am so proud of those of you who are trying your best to read better, write better, be curious and successful! Stay on track towards a better YOU!

As promised, let’s give you another opportunity to boost that grade. This week’s extra credit assignment will take the place of a missing assignment or add 10 points to your lowest score.

In honor of Halloween, we will Flashback to your childhood and think of those scary moments… In the comments section, please share either the scariest story, book, or movie from when you were a kid or a personal experience of something creepy happening to you. Let me go first! My favorite scary novel is called House of Leaves by Mark Danielewski. This book is crazy scary about a guy who finds the notes of an old man who has died and gone mad trying to solve the mystery of a house that keeps expanding into unknown space. Doesn’t sound that scary until the people can’t find there way out. Even creepier the way the book is written he tries to show how the house has made him go crazy. Here are some pictures.

House_of_leaves images (1) 765501 12aefc1457e3409e68e28532c9ce37c0

Ok so I shared mine, now you share yours!

Have a Happy and Safe Halloween and please don’t forget to do your homework!!!

Homework ENG I:

– Read Ch.29-30 and complete your Meta-cognitive Journal

– Write a summary for Ch. 29-30

– See if you can figure out the metaphor of the Stupid Horse. What is being compared to what and why? Write a aragraph explaining what Stupid Horse Symbolizes.

– Don’t forget Independent Reading Book Reports are due Next week November 5-6!

Homework ENG II:

Read Ch.4-6 Scarlet Letter

-Complete your Reading Guide for CH.4-5 and the Meta-cognitive Journal for Ch.6

IMPORTANT REMINDERS FOR EVERYONE!!!

– If you didn’t complete your FINAL 10 week assessment please see me after school or during your lunch period to finish it!!!

-If you have missing assignments see me during lunch or after school to finish your work!!!

-CHECK YOUR GRADES AS OFTEN AS POSSIBLE!!! You can always raise your grade by going to lunch tutoring or Scholar Hour. See me for more details and a pass. Then, I will send you down during lunch or after school.

-Build On Meeting Tuesday!

-Culinary Club, turn in your permission slips and money if you want to cook.

About jvpilar

Here's a little info about your teacher. I worked really hard to become your teacher. I went to UIC to get a degree in English, but decided to work as a writer in California. While I was there I realized I would rather work with kids than work in an office all day, so I decided to come back to Chicago and become a licensed, fully certified teacher. I earned a Masters Degree in Teaching and Education from Dominican University and got my first job at Hancock. During my 4 years at Hancock, I have taught English at every grade level. I started the Culinary Club and also sponsor BuildOn, both clubs do community service projects all over the city. I also have a cat named Duke that I rescued during one of our BuildOn service learning projects and a dog named Duchess.

8 responses to “Flashback Friday!!! With a Twist of Halloween Fun!

  1. Nothing really scared me when I was younger but this one movie called Spiders The City Is Crawling did creep me out. It mainly scared me/creeped me out because I already HATED spiders! Their just so creepy and weird. The movie is about these humongous spiders in New York. They never really showed how they got really big. But these spiders were eating people and killing them, and if they got bit the people grew eggs inside them. It’s a weird movie but it’s what creeped me out.

  2. Karissa Urbina

    The scariest movie i used to watch as a child was The Exorcist. Im not sure why but the way they created the girl character (Regan) in the movie was always so creepy to me. Also, the fact that the movie itself and the plot of the whole movie seems so realistic and was “based on a true story” always terrified me even more.

  3. You put aragraph instead of paragraph on the comment of the stupid horse

  4. i remember a scary movie in my old house about 4 or 5 years ago called I.T it was about a clown that i think was not human and ate people mostly kids and since i was a little weird kid i would only see it when i was alone and i was watching it and i heard some thing and i got soooo scared so i ran out and went to my friend house and never saw that movie again but there is going to be a new one some time next year and i want to go see it for the fun of it lmaoo

Leave a Reply

