ONE. MORE. WEEK.

Hi all! Here we go! As we rush towards the end of the quarter (we literally have 1 week left before the end of Quarter 1), please continue making an effort to stay focused on your work.  I am so proud of those of you who are trying your best to read better, write better, be curious and successful! Stay on track towards a better YOU!

As promised, let’s give you one more opportunity to boost that grade. This week’s extra credit assignment will take the place of a missing assignment or add 10 points to your lowest score. SO here we go:

As we approach the end of the quarter, reflect on your performance and answer the following questions:

1) What reading strategies do you use often to get you through tough readings? How does it help you?

2) What strategies do you want to continue to use in 2nd quarter as we move into our next novel?

3) Set one goal for yourself in 2nd quarter. How will you achieve it?

Homework ENG I:

– Read Ch.29-30 and complete your Meta-cognitive Journal

– Independent Reading Book Reports are due Next week November 5-6!

Homework ENG II:

Read Ch.4-6 Scarlet Letter

-Complete your Reading Guide for CH.4-5 and the Meta-cognitive Journal for Ch.6

IMPORTANT REMINDERS FOR EVERYONE!!!

– If you didn’t complete your FINAL 10 week assessment please see me after school or during your lunch period to finish it!!!

-If you have missing assignments see me during lunch or after school to finish your work!!!

-CHECK YOUR GRADES AS OFTEN AS POSSIBLE!!! You can always raise your grade by going to lunch tutoring or Scholar Hour. See me for more details and a pass. Then, I will send you down during lunch or after school.

-Build On Meeting Tuesday!

-Culinary Club, turn in your permission slips and money if you want to cook.

About jvpilar

Here's a little info about your teacher. I worked really hard to become your teacher. I went to UIC to get a degree in English, but decided to work as a writer in California. While I was there I realized I would rather work with kids than work in an office all day, so I decided to come back to Chicago and become a licensed, fully certified teacher. I earned a Masters Degree in Teaching and Education from Dominican University and got my first job at Hancock. During my 4 years at Hancock, I have taught English at every grade level. I started the Culinary Club and also sponsor BuildOn, both clubs do community service projects all over the city. I also have a cat named Duke that I rescued during one of our BuildOn service learning projects and a dog named Duchess.

10 responses to “ONE. MORE. WEEK.

  1. Saul Bautista

    If I have to read a tough story I mostly reread and sometime talk to the text. I also tell my friend about the reading if i have to and tell the teacher to

  2. Manny

    1. I annotate when I read. 2.it helps me a lot. 3. I want to keep using annotating strategies. 4. my goal is to get an A in this Class

  3. carla cortez

    i use talk to the text because it helps me understand key points and the situations through the stories . i want to meep using this stratagy not just for the next quarter but also through hs .my goal for the second quarter is an a average on this class and i plan on acheving it by turning all my assignments and doing extra credit .

  4. 1)To help me get through tough readings I reread or I write down words I don’t know. This helps me because when I reread something it helps me understand it and when I write down words I don’t know I look them up so then it makes the reading easier.

    2)I want to continue to do both of these strategies because it helps me.

    3)My goal is to become a better reader, I will achieve this by learning more harder words and by reading more books.

  5. jose

    i put green sticky notes in the pages I fully understand red on pages that I have trouble understanding and blue sticky notes on the ones that I think will be important.A thing I would do in the next novel would be to write down things I feel might be important

Leave a Reply

