Meandering Mondays!

Hi all! Hope your first day of Block Scheduling went well! I am sorry about the test, but you all need it! I need to see the results so we can see how you read and what I need to do to help you become better readers! With that said, today was a day of meandering as we navigated our way around the new schedule and through our 100 minute periods. Hopefully tomorrow will bring more consistency as we go through our day! With that said, here is the homework. We will look at this on Wednesday when I see you again and I will re-post this tomorrow for the other freshmen who will have this due on Thursday! Let me know if you have any questions. See you soon!

ENGLISH 1 HOMEWORK:
Read “Traveling” by Sherman Alexei and complete the Double Entry Journal on the back of the story or on a separate sheet of paper.

Double Entry Journal
Text: ”Traveling” by Sherman Alexei
Focus Question: How is the narrator’s identity affected by the situation?

Interpretation: Answer the question. Textual Evidence: Write down quotes from the text that support your answer.
1)

 

 

 

 

2)

 

 

 

 

3)

1)

 

 

 

 

2)

 

 

 

 

3)

 

About jvpilar

Here's a little info about your teacher. I worked really hard to become your teacher. I went to UIC to get a degree in English, but decided to work as a writer in California. While I was there I realized I would rather work with kids than work in an office all day, so I decided to come back to Chicago and become a licensed, fully certified teacher. I earned a Masters Degree in Teaching and Education from Dominican University and got my first job at Hancock. During my 4 years at Hancock, I have taught English at every grade level. I started the Culinary Club and also sponsor BuildOn, both clubs do community service projects all over the city. I also have a cat named Duke that I rescued during one of our BuildOn service learning projects and a dog named Duchess.

5 responses to “Meandering Mondays!

  1. Carla

    I don’t get the question

    • Think about what happens to the narrator while they are traveling. How does this event affect how he feels about himself and who he is? What happens in the story that might affect how he feels about himself?

      • I still don’t get it ..

      • It’s ok! First read the story “Traveling.” As you read think about how he might feel about the incident. How does it affect the way he views himself? Does it make him sad or happy or proud or ashamed? Use your Double Entry Journal to record places in the text where you see some thing that affects his identity? Then explain why you feel that way in the second column. If you are still having trouble, see me after or before school.

Leave a Reply

