Throwback Thursday! (Again)… 6 days and counting!

Hi all! Oh my goodness, we are nearing the end quickly!!! I apologize for the little emergency I had this morning, but I will be there tomorrow for sure! So here is your grade boost for the day:

For Throwback Thursday- be reflective and tell me how you have changed this year. In the comments, fill in this sentence stem:

At the beginning of the year I __________________________________, but now _______________________________________________.

For example, At the beginning of the year, I used to feel unorganized, but now I have a better system for how I collect work so I can get it back to you faster! SO… I shared with you, share yours with me and get your Extra Credit!

As we reach the END, please keep working diligently towards our end of the year goals! Please see me if there are any assignments you are missing or grades that you feel need improvement. Continue the hard work as we reach the final stretch towards SUMMER.

HOMEWORK ENGLISH I

Choose your novel and your movie and please complete the Compare and Contrast Worksheet 🙂 Please continue working on your project!  These are due MONDAY so we can vote on our film!!!

TKAM Literary Analysis Papers are now LATE!!! Please turn them in ASAP!!!

Blogs are now LATE!!! Please turn THEM in ASAP!!!

Bring your Independent Read Book and To Kill A Mockingbird to class.

Don’t forget to turn in any LATE work!!!

 Extra E.C. Share something that would be typical of Scout, Jem, or Atticus.

HOMEWORK HONORS ENGLISH II

Click here for the In the Time of the Butterflies Calendar In the Time of the Butterflies Reading Calendar (1)

Finish the Modified Sketch to Stretch so you are ready for the final FRIDAY!!! Begin working on your visual representation!

Extra E.C. Share something that would be typical of one of the Mirabal sisters.

IMPORTANT REMINDERS FOR EVERYONE!!!

  • CHECK YOUR GRADES AS OFTEN AS POSSIBLE!!! You can always raise your grade by going to lunch tutoring or Scholar Hour. See me for more details and a pass. Then, I will send you down during lunch or after school.
  • Culinary Club meeting on June 4 after school!!!
About jvpilar

Here's a little info about your teacher. I worked really hard to become your teacher. I went to UIC to get a degree in English, but decided to work as a writer in California. While I was there I realized I would rather work with kids than work in an office all day, so I decided to come back to Chicago and become a licensed, fully certified teacher. I earned a Masters Degree in Teaching and Education from Dominican University and got my first job at Hancock. During my 4 years at Hancock, I have taught English at every grade level. I started the Culinary Club and also sponsor BuildOn, both clubs do community service projects all over the city. I also have a cat named Duke that I rescued during one of our BuildOn service learning projects and a dog named Duchess.

12 responses to “Throwback Thursday! (Again)… 6 days and counting!

  1. Salina

    My change this year was not good. I started slacking in school.

  2. Jesus Nuno

    At the beginning of the year I used to be organized, and I was up to date with my work. Now I am very lazy my grades are dropping and I regret it. This will not happen junior year.

  3. jose palomares

    At the beginning of the year i was quite and not that very talking, but then when i met more friends I’m laughing having a great time and smiling because i know i was going to have a great freshmen year.

  4. Jessica Rangel

    At the beginning of the year i was on task and well prepared but now i’m too distracted to focus on anything.

  5. Julia Rivas

    At the begining of the year I use to try my hardest to turn in my work on time but now I have turned in to such a procrasinator.

  6. Paulina Gomez

    At the beginning of the year I was quiet and really stubborn towards people, but now i can open up to some and say i found good friends :D.

  7. Carlos Hernandez

    At the beginning of the year I started with so much energy, but now I’ve been really lazy and I just want the year to be over.

  8. Maranda Enriquez

    At the beginning of the year, I was decent, but toward the end, I’ve went down.

  9. leslie

    At The Begining Of The Year I Was All Up Strict On My Work And Now I’m Slacking . Agree With Jesus Not Happening No More .

  10. Omar De La Torre

    At the beginning of the year I thought it would we an easy year, but now I realized it will only get harder.

  11. Alondra Pulido

    At the beginning of the year I was well prepared and organized , but now I started to lack on homework that could’ve boosted my grade a little higher.

  12. Perla Sahagun

    At the beginning of the year I was a bit shy and quite. Now I’m more spontaneous and out spoken, which is a good change

Leave a Reply

