Commencement Monday- Congrats Class of 2014!!! The rest of us have 9 days and counting :)

Today is Commencement Day, Graduation Day.  For those of you who have Senior siblings and friends, this is a day that everyone of you should be looking forward to… In 2 or 3 years that will be you walking across the stage and I hope to see every single one of you get there!!! So with that said, it’s called Commencement Monday for a reason, so let’s get there.

For Commencement Monday, I want you to think about the word commencement.  It means to a new beginning or start.  It’s funny that the last day of your high school career is called Commencement, but it makes sense as well. The last day of H.S. is your first day as an adult out in the real world starting a new adventure and chapter in your lives. So for today’s extra credit, describe a moment in your life when you started something new. Maybe it was your first day at Hancock or at a job. How did you feel as you commenced the new chapter of life? Respond in the comments and receive 5 points extra credit.

As we reach the END, please keep working diligently towards our end of the year goals! Please see me if there are any assignments you are missing or grades that you feel need improvement. Continue the hard work as we reach the final stretch towards SUMMER.

HOMEWORK ENGLISH I

Complete your Final Draft of TKAM Literary Analysis Paper.

Blogs are now LATE!!! Please turn THEM in ASAP!!!

Bring your Independent Read Book and To Kill A Mockingbird to class.

Don’t forget to turn in any LATE work!!!

 Extra E.C. Share a new beginning in one of the books we read this year.

HOMEWORK HONORS ENGLISH II

Click here for the In the Time of the Butterflies Calendar In the Time of the Butterflies Reading Calendar (1)

Finish Reading the Epilogue and complete the quotes for the Modified Sketch to Stretch.

Extra E.C. What was a moment when one of the sisters commenced a new stage of her life?

IMPORTANT REMINDERS FOR EVERYONE!!!

  • CHECK YOUR GRADES AS OFTEN AS POSSIBLE!!! You can always raise your grade by going to lunch tutoring or Scholar Hour. See me for more details and a pass. Then, I will send you down during lunch or after school.
  • Culinary Club meeting on June 4 after school!!!
About jvpilar

Here's a little info about your teacher. I worked really hard to become your teacher. I went to UIC to get a degree in English, but decided to work as a writer in California. While I was there I realized I would rather work with kids than work in an office all day, so I decided to come back to Chicago and become a licensed, fully certified teacher. I earned a Masters Degree in Teaching and Education from Dominican University and got my first job at Hancock. During my 4 years at Hancock, I have taught English at every grade level. I started the Culinary Club and also sponsor BuildOn, both clubs do community service projects all over the city. I also have a cat named Duke that I rescued during one of our BuildOn service learning projects and a dog named Duchess.

17 responses to “Commencement Monday- Congrats Class of 2014!!! The rest of us have 9 days and counting :)

  1. Mandi ;D

    I feel as though I succeeded, and it was worth it. This shapes my whole life. 😀

  2. Salina

    When I graduated 8th grade a started a new chapter in my life.

  3. Gabriel Martinez

    A day of commencement was when i first my new PlayStation 3. It was a new game system with many new cool features. I knew nothing will be the same, from the graphics of games to online gameplay it was all new to me and i was super happy. No more wired controllers or limited movie settings. I couldnt wait to see how the games & blurays were. The feeling was pure happiness, with a smile ear to ear.

  4. Alex Hernandez

    The first day at hancock was a new beginning because i knew it was going to be harder then elementary. I knew it was a beginning because high school was going to make me start a new life and get ready for the real world.

  5. Paulina Gomez

    A moment in my life when i started something new was indeed in my first day of highschool. At first i was like nope. People suck. Forget this,but after a while i ended up meeting people and decided to open up and being a nice person >.> I felt as is people were gonna be rude to me cause of how i was and all outspoken but instead found people like me too 😀

  6. Josefina

    i remember the time when i first started working with my dad during the summer before entering the 9th grade. I have always been shy to talk to people and my new job required me to talk to people in order to take their orders. This was the start of me learning how to save up for the things i need or want. It has also taught me what it is to have the responsibility of a job. It showed me how i have to accommodate the things i need to do in a week without having it interfere with my working hours.
    I think when each of the sisters started to attend Catholic school because they started to live on their own(pretty much) and they started to discover the bad things about world around them

  7. Daniela aburto

    When patria realizes her body is changing and she notices she is different

  8. leslie

    i think they commenced a new step when they decided to go against trujillo becasue going against them could risk their life and their families .

  9. Susana Ortega

    On the first day of high school i felt very lost because i didn’t know anyone.
    the sisters commenced a new stage in their life when they first went to I.C.

  10. Julia Rivas

    One time I started something new was my first day in high school. I was not use to so much movement and people, it was a whole new enviroment for me. It took me a while to settle in and get comfortable but eventually I got the hang of it. Starting high school has taught me many things and I know it will open many doors for me in my future.

  11. gabino garcia

    a Commencement moment (or new beginning) was my first day on the football field. this was one of the most frightening experiences in my life. the first time I made contact shoulder to shoulder is an experience like no other. once you leave your blood, sweat an tears on the field this changes you for good.

  12. Melissa Barrera

    A new beginning to me was freshman year!
    Having to start new friendships, meeting new teachers, having more responsibilities and more liberty!
    Its a high school chapter I’m determined to finished well in 2016!
    #Classof2016!!

    A new beginning for Dede was having to start a new chapter in her life with out her sisters and having to raise her Sisters children on her own.

  13. Jesus Nuno

    The biggest change I’ve had in my life is when I started High school. This was the biggest change for me because everyone was new to me, and we had more freedom compared to middle school.

  14. Carlos Hernandez

    When I first had the biggest change was when I got a job. It’s an experience that is life worthy because it shows how money is earned. Sometimes we take our parents for granted and just ask for money but don’t know how hard it is to earn it!

  15. Maranda Enriquez

    The biggest change I’ve had in life, so far, is entering high school.

  16. Perla Sahagun

    One commencement that I had, was when I transferred to Hancock from Kelly, it was a big change and I didn’t know what to expect. I was completely lost both academically and in the building. But with time I realized that change isn’t so bad and I started to feel comfortable.

Leave a Reply

