Flashback Friday!…OMG 19 days and Counting :)

You know the deal… if you comment on the blog in regards to the daily heading, I will give you e.c. so here’s the question.  Please comment below-

For Flashback Friday, post your favorite flashback moment in a book or movie! This might sound crazy, but in the Dark Knight when you find out that Bain isn’t the little bald kid who grew up in the prison- I was like WHOA!!! Or in the 6th Sense when they find out that Bruce Willis was dead too- I mean awesome way to use a FLASHBACK! What’s yours???

As we reach the END, please keep working diligently towards our end of the year goals! Please see me if there are any assignments you are missing or grades that you feel need improvement. Continue the hard work as we reach the final stretch towards SUMMER.

HOMEWORK ENGLISH I

Finish your Philosophical Chair Reflections.

Bring your Independent Read Book and To Kill A Mockingbird to class on Monday.

Don’t forget to turn in any LATE work!!!

 Extra E.C. Who is your Community Hero? List someone who you look up to with in your community.  No additional E.C. if it’s me lol

HOMEWORK HONORS ENGLISH II

Click here for the In the Time of the Butterflies Calendar In the Time of the Butterflies Reading Calendar (1)

Finish Reading Ch.10 and complete your Literature Circle Roles.

Extra E.C. Which Mirabal Sister are you most different from? How?

IMPORTANT REMINDERS FOR EVERYONE!!!

  • CHECK YOUR GRADES AS OFTEN AS POSSIBLE!!! You can always raise your grade by going to lunch tutoring or Scholar Hour. See me for more details and a pass. Then, I will send you down during lunch or after school.
  • Build On Meeting tomorrow! See me for your permission slips.
  • Culinary Club meeting on Thursday
About jvpilar

Here's a little info about your teacher. I worked really hard to become your teacher. I went to UIC to get a degree in English, but decided to work as a writer in California. While I was there I realized I would rather work with kids than work in an office all day, so I decided to come back to Chicago and become a licensed, fully certified teacher. I earned a Masters Degree in Teaching and Education from Dominican University and got my first job at Hancock. During my 4 years at Hancock, I have taught English at every grade level. I started the Culinary Club and also sponsor BuildOn, both clubs do community service projects all over the city. I also have a cat named Duke that I rescued during one of our BuildOn service learning projects and a dog named Duchess.

21 responses to “Flashback Friday!…OMG 19 days and Counting :)

  1. Jeanette R.

    My community hero is my older brother because he always pushes me to do harder in school and tells me”good job, keep it up!” When i get a good grade 😄

  2. Alejandro Hernandez

    my flashback was when i was seeing a movie (Lifted) the dad went to Afghanistan and the little kid sang and for the kid the dad came back but at the end he found out that his dad died in Afghanistan. That is my flashback

  3. Vianey salgado

    The community hero i look up to is my sister because she is always tellinh me.to help people when.i could and to do the right thing even when no one.is looking.

  4. Alondra Alcazar

    I think I’m most different from Dede because Dede seems to be the weakest link. I also wouldn’t let a man be in charge of me, because I’m really hard headed and Have a strong attitude.

    • Definitely do not like how Jaimito controls Dede! Every time I read those parts where he is bossing her around, I’m like yelling, “Stand up for yourself Dede! GOSH!!!” Def would not be me!

  5. Jessica Herrera

    i’d say i’m most different from Dedé, that being due to the fact that when i have a strong feeling for something i go for it. Unlike dede that seems to be stuck between wanting to be in the “anti-trujillo” organization & just not doing it. I’d say im also different from her by how she always have to check on her husband on the decisions SHE wants to take, personally I wouldn’t do that 24/7 like dede does. I’m the complete opposite, because i know that what i do, is done because i chose to do so. btw missed ya today ms.pilar ! 🙂

  6. Jesus Nuno

    My favorite part of the movie To Fast to furious is when Paul walker has enough confidence to beat the best racer Vin diesel. It inspires me to never give up and always aim high.

  7. rogelio godinez

    My community hero is my mom because shes a hard worker and supports her family

  8. rogelio godinez

    One flashback was wen percy jackson was trick when he had luke shield had zeus lightning bolt in it and was frame that he took it. It was shocking- percy Jackson the lightning thief

  9. Susana Ortega

    i am most different from Minerva because she isn’t shy and will say whats on her mind

  10. Omar De La Torre

    I remember watching Back To The Future and being so confused like what the heck is happening?
    Finally after watching it a few times I was oh okay O.o time travel

  11. Melissa Barrera

    In the movie UP when the old man reminds himself why he doesn’t want to leave that house an he begins to remember all the moments with his wife in that house.

    Dede is my opposite! For one she it too whooped by Jaimito. I wish a guy would try to do that i will leave him so fast! Haha but i don’t like to run things by anyone I simply do them. And Dede is very responsible! I’m responsible but not at all compared to her.

  12. Julia Rivas

    Im most different from Dede because family will never come second to me no later what my man says!💁 I do things my way whether its wrong or right as long as I feel confortable with my choice. Dede should have never left her sisters alone .

  13. Julie Flores

    My flashback would be when I read the book Old Yelled and Travis had to kill his dog Old Yeller. I really wished they could have saved Yeller, but there wasn’t much Travis could do… I felt sad and surprised that Old Yeller had to die.

  14. Carlos Hernandez

    Best flashback is in 6th grade when we picked up my dad from jail.

  15. leslie

    Dede Cause I Don’t Spend Much Time With my Father .. Plus I Don’t Just always want to try and look on the bright side .

Leave a Reply

