Throwback Thursday… If IG can do it so can Ms.P :0… 20 days and COUNTING!

Here’s my new thing- if you comment on the blog in regards to the daily heading, I will give you e.c. so here’s the question.  Please comment below-

For Throwback Thursday, post your proudest Reading or Writing Moment when you were younger! For me it was winning Free Pizzas from The Book It Program when I was in grades school! I read every Berenstain Bear Book to Box Car Children to Babysitter’s Club Books! lol For writing it was in college when my Literary Magazine was Published! Very proud moments for me 🙂  What’s yours???

As we reach the END, please keep working diligently towards our end of the year goals! Please see me if there are any assignments you are missing or grades that you feel need improvement. Continue the hard work as we reach the final stretch towards SUMMER.

HOMEWORK ENGLISH I

Bring your Independent Read Book tomorrow and To Kill A Mockingbird

Don’t forget to turn in any LATE work!!!

HOMEWORK HONORS ENGLISH II

Click here for the In the Time of the Butterflies Calendar In the Time of the Butterflies Reading Calendar (1)

Click here for the Generalizations and Conclusions Questions generalizations and conclusions practice

Read Ch.10 to page 215

Extra E.C. Which Mirabal Sister are you most alike? How?

IMPORTANT REMINDERS FOR EVERYONE!!!

  • CHECK YOUR GRADES AS OFTEN AS POSSIBLE!!! You can always raise your grade by going to lunch tutoring or Scholar Hour. See me for more details and a pass. Then, I will send you down during lunch or after school.
  • Build On Meeting tomorrow! See me for your permission slips.
  • Culinary Club meeting on Thursday
About jvpilar

Here's a little info about your teacher. I worked really hard to become your teacher. I went to UIC to get a degree in English, but decided to work as a writer in California. While I was there I realized I would rather work with kids than work in an office all day, so I decided to come back to Chicago and become a licensed, fully certified teacher. I earned a Masters Degree in Teaching and Education from Dominican University and got my first job at Hancock. During my 4 years at Hancock, I have taught English at every grade level. I started the Culinary Club and also sponsor BuildOn, both clubs do community service projects all over the city. I also have a cat named Duke that I rescued during one of our BuildOn service learning projects and a dog named Duchess.

21 responses to “Throwback Thursday… If IG can do it so can Ms.P :0… 20 days and COUNTING!

  1. Brenda Barrera

    A Reading Moment I Had Was When I Had To Read More Than An Hour To Win a Six Flags Ticket A Writing Moment Was When I Had To Write A Random Essay About The Random thing Ever, Topic Was About ” What would You Choose, A Dog Or A Cat?” Pretty Weird And Hard To Choose Lol

  2. Sara Palomo

    My proudest writing moment was when I wrote a poem about bullying. My 8th grade teacher entered me in a contest and I was able to make it into to the top 50. Sadly I didn’t win 1st place, but they still gave me tickets to a Sox, Cubs, and Chicago Fire game. I was happy with that.

  3. Stephanie Castillo

    When I was in 4th grade I received an award for superior achievement and excellence in intermediate winner of the young authors contest. I was very proud

  4. Jeanette R.

    When i read the julie B. Jones books in like 2bd grade .

    What independent book??

  5. Alondra Alcazar

    For reading , I remember I used to fill up my reading logs and try to read as many books as I could to win a six flags ticket at the end of the year. For writing I remember I wrote a story that was nominated best creative out of the whole school in freshman year.

  6. Ayelen Acevedo

    In the 4rd grade, I read 100 books in one month to win a free ticket to Six Flags.

  7. Salina

    My proudest reading moment was when I use to read all these books so I could get coupons for pizza at Pizza Hut

  8. Joshua Bembenek

    A reading moment I was proud of is when I read my first book. My family and I were on a trip to Wisconsin, and I brought along my favorite book. I sounded each word out and before I knew it, I was reading!

  9. Selena Antunez

    My proudest reading moment to this day would be reading at night every night

  10. Maria martinez

    A reading moment I was proud of was when I actually finish reading one of the Harry potter books in 7th grade. I was always too lazy to read those big books.😫😅💞📚

  11. rogelio godinez

    I remember when i was a kid i read alot of books to win a free pizza hot pizza

  12. Susana Ortega

    When i was in elementary school i won a Six Flags ticket for reading.

  13. Omar De La Torre

    We had to have 10 hours for a reading log in one month. BY the end of the month I had 25 🙂
    I was so happy and proud.

  14. Yasmin

    My proudest moment would have to be when I won the class bookworm award in 7th grade.

  15. Melissa Barrera

    Reading- When i had to read and log my time to win pizzas and six flags tickets
    Writing- When we had to write a scary story and it was a mini contest in each class and i was one of the top 5 back in 6th grade.

    I think I relate more to Minerva because in a away she is a loud mouth and a rebel. I do and speak what i want and please out of school. And Sometimes I get other people in trouble for something I did. (not on purpose)

  16. Julia Rivas

    My greatest accomplishment was in grade school when I would get a free sin flags ticket every year if I would fill out a reading log saying I read more than 60 hours.

  17. Julie Flores

    My proudest moment would have to be when I wrote a poem and it got published in a huge book of poems for 8th grade. I didn’t believe that something I wrote would actually be good enough, so it was an honor.

  18. Carlos Hernandez

    Throwback Thursday was when I would come from school at 2:30 and do my homework.

  19. leslie

    the proudest reading moment of my life was when i finished a book in 4 days 😀

Leave a Reply

