Closing out the Quarter- Day 2

We are almost halfway through the school year! As we approach finals, let’s complete our assignments, read our novels, and participate wholeheartedly in class. Let’s also remember that this week is not only the end of the Quarter, but also the end of the Semester. Once the Semester is over, GPA’s (grade point averages) will be calculated by combining Q1 and Q2′s grades. If you are failing at the end of the Semester, you will have to make up the credit with Summer School or by repeating the class.  Finals will be on Wednesday and Friday of this week. Please complete the following readings, so that you can stay on track:

HOMEWORK ENGLISH I

  • Make sure you have read to page 122. Write 3 questions: one inferential, one cause and effect, and compare and contrast.
  • Complete any missing work!
  • Return Swallowing Stones!

HOMEWORK HONORS ENGLISH II

  • Complete Double Entry Journal for the end of the book answering the following questions:

How does speaking up set you free?

  •  Read to the end of SPEAK!
  • Complete any missing work!
  • Return Hole in My Life and Part Time Indian!

IMPORTANT REMINDERS FOR EVERYONE!!!

  • Grades are due January 17!!! END OF Q2 is Jan. 23!!!
  • CHECK YOUR GRADES AS OFTEN AS POSSIBLE!!! You can always raise your grade by going to lunch tutoring or Scholar Hour. See me for more details and a pass. Then, I will send you down during lunch or after school.
  • SPECIAL MONDAY and FRIDAY STUDY SESSION after school in room 101 on Jan.17!!!
  • Build On Meeting Tuesday! See me for a permission slip for Sat.
  • Culinary Club will meet Wed. January 15!
About jvpilar

Here's a little info about your teacher. I worked really hard to become your teacher. I went to UIC to get a degree in English, but decided to work as a writer in California. While I was there I realized I would rather work with kids than work in an office all day, so I decided to come back to Chicago and become a licensed, fully certified teacher. I earned a Masters Degree in Teaching and Education from Dominican University and got my first job at Hancock. During my 4 years at Hancock, I have taught English at every grade level. I started the Culinary Club and also sponsor BuildOn, both clubs do community service projects all over the city. I also have a cat named Duke that I rescued during one of our BuildOn service learning projects and a dog named Duchess.

Leave a Reply

