Welcome 2014 :)

Happy New Year and welcome back everyone!  When we last left each other we were in need of a break because we were working so hard.  As we enter 2014, let’s ALL resolve to pursue academic success by completing our assignments, persevering through our novels, and participating wholeheartedly in class  so that we can achieve our HIGHEST CAPABILITIES in reading and writing.  How will we begin?  Let’s get back into the swing of things by being prepared for this week.

Let’s also remember that we have only 2 weeks until the end of the Semester.  Once Quarter 2 is over, GPA’s (grade point averages) will be calculated by combining Q1 and Q2’s grades.  Please complete the following so that you can stay on track:

  • HOMEWORK ENGLISH I

    • CHECK GRADE BOOK. Come to class on Monday with a list of your missing assignments.
    • If you borrowed a book PLEASE Return before 2nd period!!! (Bin is right by the door of room 101!)
    • Complete any missing work!
    • Return Swallowing Stones!

    HOMEWORK HONORS ENGLISH II

    • Read to end of 3rd Marking Period in SPEAK!
    • Complete any missing work!
    • Return Hole in My Life and Part Time Indian!

    IMPORTANT REMINDERS FOR EVERYONE!!!

    • Grades are due January 17!!! END OF Q2 is Jan. 23!!!
    • CHECK YOUR GRADES AS OFTEN AS POSSIBLE!!! You can always raise your  grade by going to lunch tutoring or Scholar Hour.  See me for more details and a pass. Then, I will send you down during lunch or after school.
    • Build On Meeting Tuesday January 7! :)
    • Culinary Club will meet January 15 ! :)
About jvpilar

Here's a little info about your teacher. I worked really hard to become your teacher. I went to UIC to get a degree in English, but decided to work as a writer in California. While I was there I realized I would rather work with kids than work in an office all day, so I decided to come back to Chicago and become a licensed, fully certified teacher. I earned a Masters Degree in Teaching and Education from Dominican University and got my first job at Hancock. During my 4 years at Hancock, I have taught English at every grade level. I started the Culinary Club and also sponsor BuildOn, both clubs do community service projects all over the city. I also have a cat named Duke that I rescued during one of our BuildOn service learning projects and a dog named Duchess.

Leave a Reply

