Work for Wednesday

DON’T FORGET- GRADES ARE ALREADY  DUE ON FRIDAY! We will continue with our new Units.  As we do, please bring your books to class EVERYDAY!!!  

HOMEWORK ENGLISH I

  • Complete any missing work!  If you haven’t turned in your independent reading, get moving!!! Time is ticking away and this project WILL be included on progress reports!
  • Bring Swallowing Stones to return!
  • Answer the following question with a  thoughtful paragraph on a separate piece of paper:

After reading pages 3-6 of Zeitoun, describe the character Zeitoun.  Then explain some possible effects that could be a result of his childhood as a fisherman?

HOMEWORK HONORS ENGLISH II

  • Choose a word that needs clarifying from today’s reading and write a multiple choice question. Explain how this word could apply to what we know about Melinda so far.
  • EMAIL any missing BLOGS or papers TO ME jvpilar@cps.edu. 
  • See the blog from 11/14 for the Blog template if you were absent and have to write one individually as a make up

IMPORTANT REMINDERS FOR EVERYONE!!!

  • PROGRESS REPORTS ARE DUE ON FRIDAY!!!!
  • CHECK YOUR GRADES AS OFTEN AS POSSIBLE!!! You can always raise your  grade by going to lunch tutoring or Scholar Hour.  See me for more details and a pass. Then, I will send you down during lunch or after school.
  • Build On Meeting on Tuesday in Room 101!  :)
  • Culinary Club Meeting :)
About jvpilar

Here's a little info about your teacher. I worked really hard to become your teacher. I went to UIC to get a degree in English, but decided to work as a writer in California. While I was there I realized I would rather work with kids than work in an office all day, so I decided to come back to Chicago and become a licensed, fully certified teacher. I earned a Masters Degree in Teaching and Education from Dominican University and got my first job at Hancock. During my 4 years at Hancock, I have taught English at every grade level. I started the Culinary Club and also sponsor BuildOn, both clubs do community service projects all over the city. I also have a cat named Duke that I rescued during one of our BuildOn service learning projects and a dog named Duchess.

Leave a Reply

