Happy Tuesday!

Hello all!  Well we are well on our way to becoming AVID readers, aren’t we! We have been able to get a lot done in class because you are staying focused on our texts, so keep it up!

Class Reminders:

  • English II students: If you would like to buy a copy of The Absolutely True Diary of a Part Time Indian by Sherman Alexie, please bring $5.00 to class and reserve a copy.  Books should be arriving tomorrow.

  • English I students:  If you have not been able to check out an independent Reading book, please see me so that I can write you a pass for before or after school or during lunch to check one out. Remember to bring your book to class on Friday!

Reminders for EVERYONE:

  • BuildOn Scavenger Hunt Permission Slips will be in my classroom all week, so if you would like to come to our kick off event this Saturday Sept.14, please pick up a form and get it signed to turn into Ryan at the event!

  • First Culinary Club meeting will be on Thursday, September 19 in Room 101. See me if you have any questions 🙂

HOME WORK CHART

English I

Honors English II

Complete CER Graphic Organizer for the article, “Children Can still Change…”

Complete Clarifier Role Sheet for Chapter 5.

About jvpilar

Here's a little info about your teacher. I worked really hard to become your teacher. I went to UIC to get a degree in English, but decided to work as a writer in California. While I was there I realized I would rather work with kids than work in an office all day, so I decided to come back to Chicago and become a licensed, fully certified teacher. I earned a Masters Degree in Teaching and Education from Dominican University and got my first job at Hancock. During my 4 years at Hancock, I have taught English at every grade level. I started the Culinary Club and also sponsor BuildOn, both clubs do community service projects all over the city. I also have a cat named Duke that I rescued during one of our BuildOn service learning projects and a dog named Duchess.

One response to “Happy Tuesday!

  1. Jeanette Rodriguez

    i cant find my paper where i wrote down the chart and i cant remember what i had written on there. I think i left it in the red folder for our row..

Leave a Reply

