Day 2- How do we read?

Hi all!  Hope you had a great day! Please don’t forget to do your homework tonight:

1) Do the questions from the “Welcome to class Blog.” We will discuss in class tomorrow.

2) Bring signed syllabus and materials (journal and folder).

3) Complete Reading Survey.

Thank you scroll below to follow my blog and complete last night’s homework!  See you tomorrow 🙂

-Ms.P

SOPHOMORE READING SURVEY: Please answer to the best of your ability in complete sentences and in detail. 

1) If you had to guess…

How many books would you say you owned? ___________

How many books would you say there are in your house? __________

How many books would you say you’ve read in the last 12 months? ________

2) How did you learn to read?

3) Why do people read?  List as many reasons as you can think of.

4) What does someone have to do or know in order to be  a good reader?

5) What kinds of books do you like to read?

6) How do you decide which books you’ll read?

7) Who are your favorite authors? (If you don’t have a favorite, list as many as you know.)

8) Have you ever reread a book? ___________ If so, can you name it/ them now.

9) How often do you read at home?

10) In general, how do you feel about reading?

About jvpilar

Here's a little info about your teacher. I worked really hard to become your teacher. I went to UIC to get a degree in English, but decided to work as a writer in California. While I was there I realized I would rather work with kids than work in an office all day, so I decided to come back to Chicago and become a licensed, fully certified teacher. I earned a Masters Degree in Teaching and Education from Dominican University and got my first job at Hancock. During my 4 years at Hancock, I have taught English at every grade level. I started the Culinary Club and also sponsor BuildOn, both clubs do community service projects all over the city. I also have a cat named Duke that I rescued during one of our BuildOn service learning projects and a dog named Duchess.

2 responses to “Day 2- How do we read?

  1. EAguirre

    Ms. Pilar,

    Is the above reading survey meant as part of the freshmen homework? It says sophomore and I don’t see anything else that would be for your 6th period freshman class. Please advise. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

