Welcome to Miss Pilar’s English Class!

Hello all!  I’m really excited to be your teacher this year! We have a lot of learning to do.  Our time together will go quickly, but I hope you are able to take what we learn in my classroom with you and apply it beyond our four walls.

This week we will take some time to set expectations that will keep our learning on track and hopefully help us to get to know each other better.  Expectation #1.  I will use this site to communicate with you and your families as we work together to reach your educational goals, so I expect that you will check it regularly.

Here’s a little info about your teacher.  I worked really hard to become your teacher.  I went to UIC to get a degree in English, but decided to work as a writer in California.  While I was there I realized I would rather work with kids than work in an office all day, so I decided to come back to Chicago and become an official teacher. I earned a Masters Degree in Teaching and Education from Dominican University and got my first job at Hancock.  So as you can see, life is full of learning experiences.

During my 4 years at Hancock, I have taught English at every grade level. I started the Culinary Club and also sponsor BuildOn, both clubs do community service projects all over the city. I also have a cat named Duke that I rescued during one of our BuildOn service learning projects and a dog named Duchess.  Be ready to hear more about them in class and be ready to listen to all of the other stories I have to tell you. Trust me, I have a lot!  Image

I hope you will share with me as I have with you because I truly can’t wait to learn more about you!

Now please complete the assignment below, and come to class prepared!

HOMEWORK:
1) After reading about me, come to class with 3 questions you have about me and 3 details you found interesting. Write these down on a separate sheet of paper to turn in to me tomorrow.

2)  Come to class with a composition notebook and a 2 pocket portfolio folder with 3 prong binding in the middle.ImageImage

3) Follow me and feel free to comment any questions you might have!

Alright!  I will see you tomorrow 🙂

-Ms.P

About jvpilar

Here's a little info about your teacher. I worked really hard to become your teacher. I went to UIC to get a degree in English, but decided to work as a writer in California. While I was there I realized I would rather work with kids than work in an office all day, so I decided to come back to Chicago and become a licensed, fully certified teacher. I earned a Masters Degree in Teaching and Education from Dominican University and got my first job at Hancock. During my 4 years at Hancock, I have taught English at every grade level. I started the Culinary Club and also sponsor BuildOn, both clubs do community service projects all over the city. I also have a cat named Duke that I rescued during one of our BuildOn service learning projects and a dog named Duchess.

2 responses to “Welcome to Miss Pilar’s English Class!

  1. Susana Ortega

    Is this how I follow you

Leave a Reply

